I am a Snake

von Marcus Krug

On an elevated spot, a smooth stone is soothing my scaly skin.

Rays of sunlight from above give me warmth.

I’m doing nothing, just basking.


It is said, the world’s wisdom reflects in my actions.

So skilfully slow with determination I go,

About the things in life.


With limbless elegance I make my way,

Without wasting too much energy.


The Chinese call me the little dragon,

But fire I can’t breathe.

Nor do I bite, but nevertheless,

My forked tongue is venomous.


From up above then down below,

Vibrations I can sense.

Low frequency, though invisibly,

For me, however, intense.


A nagging thing can hunger be,

So out of nowhere suddenly,

I jump!

My prey isn’t granted much time,

Slinky body twists around a fluffy lump,

I choke the squirrel in its prime.


Resistance is futile it quickly learns,

The squirrel’s breath is gone.

A lifeless body in the ferns,

Dinner preparation’s done.


Before slipping into a food coma,

I slither my swollen body elegantly back

To the elevated and cosy spot.

Thereafter, I’m doing nothing, just basking.